The Swedish violinist Ulf Wallin studied at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm with Prof. Sven Karpe and at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna with Wolfgang Schneiderhan.

Ulf Wallin devotes himself to solo and chamber music with equal passion. Concert tours have taken him to Asia, Europe and the United States. He has worked with such eminent conductors as Jesús Lopéz Cobos, Manfred Honeck, Paavo Järvi, Andrew Manze, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Walter Weller and Franz Welser-Möst.

Ulf Wallin has appeared at numerous major festivals including the Lucerne and Berlin music festivals, the Schleswig-Holstein fFestival, the Schubertiade in Schwarzenberg, Musiktage Mondsee, Festival Pablo Casals de Prades and Marlboro Music Festival. He has performed in the world’s leading venues, including the Berlin Philharmonie, La Scala di Milano, Théâtre des Champs-Elysées Paris, London’s Wigmore Hall and the Musikverein in Vienna.

Ulf Wallin’s dedication to contemporary music is highlighted by his close contacts with several eminent composers, among them Anders Eliasson, Alfred Schnittke and Rodion Shchedrin.

He has made numerous radio, and television appearances and more than 45 CD recordings, many of them for BIS, have gained much acclaim and attention from the international media.

Ulf Wallin has been professor of violin at Berlin’s Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler since 1996. He has served on juries for major international competitions including the ARD Competition in Munich and the Fritz Kreisler Violin Competition in Vienna.

In 2013 he was awarded the Robert-Schumann-Preis der Stadt Zwickau and in 2014 he was elected into the Royal Swedish Academy of Music.

Ulf Wallin plays a violin by the Venetian master Domenico Montagnana from 1746.

(X/2018)

Der Schwedische Geiger Ulf Wallin studierte an der Königlichen Musikhochschule in Stockholm bei Prof. Sven Karpe und später an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Wien bei Wolfgang Schneiderhan..

Ulf Wallin widmet sich der Solo- wie der Kammermusikliteratur mit der gleichen Hingabe. Konzertreisen haben ihn durch ganz Asien, Europa und die USA geführt, wobei er unter Dirigenten wie Jesús López Cobos, Manfred Honeck, Paavo Järvi, Andrew Manze, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Walter Weller und Franz Welser-Möst gespielt hat.

Ulf Wallin ist regelmäßig bei international renommierten Festivals zu Gast, wie den Luzern Festival, Berliner Festwochen, den Musiktagen Mondsee, der Schubertiade Feldkirch, dem Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, Festival Pablo Casals de Prades und dem Marlboro Music Festival. Er ist auf bedeutenden Konzertpodien aufgetreten wie Berliner Philharmonie, La Scala di Milano, Théatre des Champs-Elysées Paris, Wigmore Hall, Wiener Musikverein.

Sein reges Interesse an zeitgenössischer Musik hat zu einer engen Zusammenarbeit mit bedeutenden Komponisten wie Anders Eliasson, Alfred Schnittke and Rodion Shchedrin geführt.

Er hat zahlreiche Aufnahmen für Rundfunk und Fernsehen gemacht. Seine Produktionen mit über 45 CD-Aufnahmen, viele davon für BIS, haben große Anerkennung und Aufmerksamkeit in den internationalen Medien gefunden.

Auf die Professur an der Hochschule für Musik in Detmold folgte 1996 der Ruf nach Berlin an der Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“. Er ist Jurymitglied bedeutender Wettbewerbe wie dem Internationalen Musikwettbewerb der ARD in München, Internationalen Fritz Kreisler Violinwettbewerb in Wien.

2013 wurde er mit dem Robert-Schumann-Preis der Stadt Zwickau ausgezeichnet. 2014 wurde er zum Mitglied der Königlichen Schwedischen Musikakademie ernannt.

Ulf Wallin spielt eine Violine von dem venezianischen Meister Domenico Montagnana aus dem Jahr 1746.

 

(X/2018)